77, Kostava Str., Tbilisi

Contact Information

T: (+995) 32 236 33 21

@: d.tavkhelidze@

Tavkhelidze David

Corresponding Member

Sphere of scientific interests: The kinematic and dynamic analysis and synthesis of multi bur mechanisms.
– The dynamic analysis and synthesis of the actuating mechanisms of industrial robots.
– Design of double acted hydro turbines and their attending mechanisms for small (up to 4 Mt) hydro power plants.
– Design and manufacturing of wind turbines and their attending mechanisms for small (up to 1,5-2 kWt) wind power plants.
– Design of automatic devices for different type of technological processes.
– Dissemination activity in the field of implementation of e-commerce platforms in the national SMEs.

Publications: Author of 113 printed scientific papers, 10 monographs and textbooks and 22 innovations.

Education - Scientific Degree

  1. 2009

    Corresponding Member

    Georgian National Academy of Sciences
  2. 1986

    Doctor of Technical Sciences

  3. 1971

    Candidate of Technical Sciences

  4. 1968-1971

    Postgraduate Study

    The Scientific-Research Institute of Machine-building (Moscow)
  5. 1963-1968


    Georgian Polytechnic Institute

Professional Experience

  1. 2008 - present
    Full Professor
    Georgian Technical University
  2. 2008 - present
    Head of Research Management Department
    Georgian Technical University
  3. 2005-2008
    Acting Dean
    Mechanical Engineering and Transportation Faculty of Georgian Technical University
  4. 1987 - present
    Head of the Department of Theory of Mechanisms and Machines
    Georgian Technical University
  5. 1987-2008
    Department of Theory of Mechanisms and Machines of Georgian Technical University
  6. 1985 - present
    Head of the Scientific Laboratory of “Automatic Devices of Technological processes”
    Georgian Technical University
  7. 1971-1987
    Associated professor of Chair of Machine Parts
    Georgian Technical University

Awards & Prizes

  • 2013
    Order of Honor of Georgia
  • 2000
    Medal of Honor
  • 1986
    Laureate of the State Prize of Georgia in the Field of Science and Technology